ministers. Each member of the legislature is authorized to claim 12 round trips per annum from St. John's to a central point in their districts.

The executive council of Newfoundland is given in Appendix 8.

Prince Edward Island. The government of Prince Edward Island consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable J.A. Doiron was sworn in as lieutenant-governor on January 14, 1980. The legislative assembly has 32 members from 16 electoral districts who may serve for a statutory term not exceeding five years. Each district elects two representatives. The 55th general assembly elected April 23, 1979 consisted of 21 Progressive Conservatives and 11 Liberals; as at April 1, 1980 party standings had changed to 21 Progressive

Conservatives, 10 Liberals and 1 vacancy.

A member of the assembly receives an indemnity of \$12,000 per annum and an additional \$6,000 tax-free for travelling and other expenses incurred in attending sessions and representing his district. In addition the premier receives a salary of \$31,000, and a cabinet minister \$21,000. The speaker of the assembly is paid an additional salary of \$5,000 and his expense allowance is \$2,000; additional salaries and expense allowances are also available to the deputy speaker in the amounts of \$2,500 and \$1,000, respectively, and to the leader of the opposition in the amounts of \$6,000 and \$2,500. All indemnities and allowances accrue from the date of election to the legislature and are paid monthly. No sessional indemnity or expenses are paid for any special session of the legislature.

The executive council of Prince Edward Island is given in Appendix 8.

Nova Scotia. The government of Nova Scotia consists of a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a house of assembly. The Honourable John E. Shaffner became lieutenant-governor on December 23, 1978. The legislature has 52 members elected for a maximum term of five years. On September 19, 1978, 31 Progressive Conservatives, 17 Liberals and four New Democrats were elected to the province's 52nd legislature and 29th since Confederation. In byelections on May 6, 1980 the Progressive Conservatives took two seats from the Liberals. The legislature then consisted of 33 Progressive Conservatives, 15 Liberals and four New Democrats.

Each member of the house of assembly is paid an annual indemnity of \$14,800 and an annual expense allowance of \$7,400. In addition to the amounts to which they are entitled under the House of Assembly Act, the premier of the province receives an annual salary of \$32,000, all other cabinet members \$25,000 or less as the Governor-in-Council may determine, the leader of the opposition \$25,000, the speaker \$15,000, the deputy speaker \$7,500, and any member occupying the recognized position of leader of a recognized party other than the premier and leader of the opposition \$10,000.

The executive council of Nova Scotia is given in Appendix 8.

New Brunswick. The government of New Brunswick has a lieutenant-governor, an executive council and a legislative assembly. The Honourable H.J. Robichaud was sworn in October 8, 1971, as lieutenant-governor. The legislature elected October 23, 1978, the 49th in New Brunswick's history and 28th since Confederation, had 58 members, including 30 Progressive Conservatives and 28 Liberals, elected for a statutory term not to exceed five years.

The premier receives \$25,000 per annum in addition to the salary for any other portfolio he may hold. Each cabinet minister is paid \$16,000; each member of the legislative assembly receives \$14,015 and a \$7,008 allowance for expenses. The leader of the opposition receives an additional \$16,000. The speaker and deputy speaker are

paid \$8,000 and \$2,500, respectively, in addition to the regular indemnity.

The executive council of New Brunswick is given in Appendix 8.

Ouebec, In Quebec, legislative and executive powers are vested in the National Assembly and an executive council. As the representative of the Crown, the lieutenantgovernor plays a role in the functioning of both branches. The Honourable Jean-Pierre Côté assumed that office on April 27, 1978.

The National Assembly consists of 110 members elected for a maximum term of five years. Party standings as at May 1980, following the general election of November